Living in my skin

How is it like to be born a girl? I know we all are princesses in our heads and to our dads. (I’m a queen though) but what of the world? In most places, being a girl is still a curse. Some don’t treat us like a person as if we are some kind of alien species. Even in most of the religious scriptures, they mentioned us like a second grade human. Probably the reason behind my questionable faith. I don’t want good grades or a promotion just because you want to sleep with me. I don’t want to be laughed at when I suggest the best option. I don’t have to be dreaming about a husband a dozen of kids. For once in my life, I just want to be treated like a person. I just want to feel safe in my own skin.

3 thoughts on “Living in my skin

  1. In a sense I was raised in a sort of bubble. I didn’t play outside much or socialize; instead I would seek refuge in my books. In my books sometimes there is prejudice. I’m grateful that it’s in the past, and then I’ll have an experience that tells me that it’s not over. Just today I heard that my father in-law had behaved in an extremely racist way towards my brother in-law and his family, and it stuns me that not only does this exist in my world, but now my children are exposed to it (they’re fighting for custody of our kids and have temporarily won).

    Like

    • I don’t know what to say. I grew up believing that the world is a beautiful place until I got smacked hard in the face. Now all I see is discrimination everywhere: racism, homophobia, religion-phobia. I mean, what is wrong with people!?

      Like

      • I like to think that it’s a battle between ideas of generations, and that the old way will die out. Someday we will face a new generation with different ideas, maybe more radical than our own. We can’t see what will happen in the future, but here’s a poor example of imagining what it will be like in that day. Imagine that the idea of freedom extends to those who want a romantic relationship with animals. To us, it may seem so wrong. I’m not saying that this is going to be an idea supported by the next generation, but if there’s life out there that turns out to be compatible with the human species, inter-species relationships will be the next ‘biracial’ debate.
        Also, I like that the style of your blog can inspire me to think such things. Thank you for your ponderings, I believe I will be following you now.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

